Return to Headlines

It's School Board Appreciation Month!

District 7 Honors School Board Members 

school board recognition month logo

Spartanburg District 7 is joining school districts throughout the state and nation to celebrate School Board Recognition Month this January. More than 600 locally-elected and appointed school board members throughout South Carolina will be recognized by schools and communities for their service and dedication to public education – including our own Trustees; Vernon Beatty, Meg Clayton, Rick Gray, Andy Hayes, Sanders Lee, Clay Mahaffey, Jeff Mason, Kenneth Myers, Sr. and Sharon Porter.

The theme — School Board Strong — highlights the unique role school boards play in championing and advocating for quality education and the ownership they take for governing their local public schools. As the elected/appointed representatives of the people in their local communities, they represent their local communities’ voice and vision for their public schools.

Saluting the nine members of the District 7 Board, Superintendent Dr. Russell Booker said, “The efforts of a school board often go unrecognized. Our Board is the governing body of this school system. Our Trustees develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $77M, 7,600 students, 1,300 employees and more than a dozen facilities. District 7 has long been fortunate to enjoy the leadership of dedicated men and women who go above and beyond to care about our children and the strength of our schools.” Booker went on to say that if you add up the service among the nine Trustees, they share well over a century of commitment to the community.


school board school board with ethic poster

D7 welcomes Kenneth Myers, Sr. to the Board of Trustees. He, along with recently re-elected trustees Meg Clayton, Clay Mahaffey and Rick Gray (pictured l to r), took their oath of honor during the first board meeting of 2020. We salute all of our trustees - Sanders Lee, Jeff Mason, Andy Hayes, Kenneth Myers, Meg Clayton, Vernon Beatty, Rick Gray, Clay Mahaffey (l to r) and Sharon Porter (not pictured) -  as we celebrate School Board Recognition Month.